top of page
  • Writer's pictureNigel Adams Artist

studio statement

Updated: Jan 22, 2021

unfolding coded languages

decommissioning signs

carefully ravelling mysteries

glued with PVA

tied off with rhetoric


making marks

that cannot be understood

in any conceivable future


knowing not doing

doing not knowing

being not doing

doing not being


in a world

that values only answers

I live

in my world of

unanswerable questions


feeding little

ticking time-bombs

into the streams

of history

and progress


determined

to blow a multi-coloured

hole in them

interrupt

their never-ending evil

if only

for a moment


I wrote this in September 2016.

It was an attempt to describe my process and purpose as an artist.

I am frequently confused and stressed about what I "should" be doing, what I am "supposed to do" - it's just one of the many manifestations of that old shape-shifter, Procrastinos the god of prevarication.

It whispers:

"If you are unsure what you are doing, it's safer to do nothing, just in case..."

"You need to be sure you are doing the right thing otherwise you will fail, people will misunderstand or hate you. If that happens you might DIE..."

"Once you work out what you should be doing it'll all magically happen, so best work that out first, then you can make the work..."

If I listen to those kinds of injunctions I make very little work, or none at all - the work I do end up making I hide from the world or apologise for.

My studio statement was an attempt to both defy Procrastinos and define the anti-logic of my work. Whilst you can rationalise my creative work after the fact, it does not come from rationalising. It comes out and I shape it as it goes. I start from abstraction, from drawing, mark-making and follow the process until I am happy with the way it looks and feels. Meaning emerges from the process and the finished piece but is not exclusive or fixed. My work is questioning, not giving definitive answers. Ambiguity is something I actively look for and embrace.

Rationality and reason have ruined the world, I prefer the fluidity of poetry and art.

Which begs the question: why did I need to write the statement?


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

100,000

On Tuesday 26th January 2021 the UK passed the milestone number of 100,000 Covid-19 related deaths so far. As an artist stuck in lockdown I feel a strong desire to make some kind of artistic statement

bottom of page