top of page
  • Writer's pictureNigel Adams Artist

100,000

On Tuesday 26th January 2021 the UK passed the milestone number of 100,000 Covid-19 related deaths so far.

As an artist stuck in lockdown I feel a strong desire to make some kind of artistic statement addressing this loss. Yesterday I launched an (as yet) unnamed project that seeks to visually express the enormity of this loss for the UK population.

It is not my aim to debate politics, strategic incompetence or willful neglect, measurement semantics or ideological agendas - simply to memorialize and represent this milestone number and help people consciously recognise something that they may currently find difficult to comprehend.

I envisage that this may take me quite some time to create and I have several different ideas that I would like to experiment with. I am especially interested in the idea of creating a version of this work with multiple contributors.


n.a. 29.1.21.

Watch the launch video here:

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page